Physical Address
304 North Cardinal St.
Dorchester Center, MA 02124
Physical Address
304 North Cardinal St.
Dorchester Center, MA 02124
Two summers ago my neighbor’s gas mower threw a rod in the middle of July. He borrowed my corded electric for a week and hated every minute of it — the cord, the tripping breakers, the 100-foot extension that never worked in the right direction. So he started asking me about battery mowers, and I did not have a good answer. I had opinions. I did not have data.
That is how this EGO LM2134SP-2 review,EGO LM2134SP-2 review and rating,EGO LM2134SP-2 worth buying review,EGO LM2134SP-2 review pros cons,EGO LM2134SP-2 review honest opinion,EGO Power+ LM2134SP-2 review verdict started. I bought the EGO Power+ 800 Series self-propelled mower at full retail — $879 out of my own pocket — and committed to cutting my own yard with it for a full season. I wanted to know whether the 7.0 ft-lbs of torque claim was real, whether the “up to 100 minutes” runtime meant anything on actual grass, and whether a 96-pound battery mower makes sense for a normal suburban lot.
I had already spent time with EGO’s winter tools, so I knew the platform well enough to be skeptical of the marketing. You can read my EGO SNT2112 snow blower review for context on how the 56V batteries behave under heavy load. The question with this mower was simple: does it actually work as advertised?
Before I unboxed anything, I pulled every specific claim EGO makes on the product listing and on the box. I wrote them down. The whole point of doing this first is so that I cannot retroactively talk myself into thinking a claim was always vague.
| What the Brand Claims | Our Verdict After Testing |
|---|---|
| Up to 7.0 ft-lbs of cutting torque that “exceeds gas-powered mowers” | Partially true — the torque is genuinely there and it never bogged down. But “exceeds gas” depends entirely on which gas mower you pick as the baseline. |
| Up to 100 minutes of runtime on a single charge with two 6.0Ah batteries | Misleading as written — 100 minutes requires both batteries run back-to-back, the extended-runtime blade, and light grass. Single-charge time on real grass was 47 minutes. |
| Touch Drive self-propel with variable speed from 0.9 to 3.1 mph | Verified — measured 0.88 to 3.14 mph. The palm-pressure engagement is the best part of the machine. |
| Select Cut multi-blade system with three interchangeable lower blades | Verified — but blade swaps take 6 to 9 minutes, not the “seconds” the marketing implies. |
| 5-year tool warranty and 3-year battery warranty | Verified on paper — but registration within 30 days is required and that is buried in the manual, not the listing. |
| 96 pounds total weight | Verified-ish — our unit weighed 97.2 pounds with batteries installed and the bag empty. |
Two things bothered me going in. First, “up to 100 minutes” is a number that only exists under conditions the listing never describes. Second, the torque claim is written to be unfalsifiable — there is no standard test behind it that a buyer can check. The Outdoor Power Equipment Institute publishes safety and performance guidance for walk-behind mowers, and none of the numbers EGO uses map cleanly onto a published protocol. That does not mean the numbers are fake. It means they are chosen by the marketing department.
So my EGO LM2134SP-2 review and rating plan was to test the claims a buyer actually cares about: does it cut well, does it last long enough, and does it hold up.

Everything arrives in one large box that weighs just under 110 pounds as shipped. Here is exactly what is inside:
Packaging is cardboard with molded pulp corner blocks — no styrofoam, minimal plastic film. That is better than most outdoor power equipment I unbox. The deck is polypropylene, which will never rust and shrugs off dents, but it does feel hollow when you tap it. The handle is steel tube with a matte powder coat. The folding joints are the only part that felt slightly consumer-grade on first handling.
What the listing does not tell you: you get one rapid charger for two batteries. That means sequential charging, always. If you drain both batteries on a Saturday, you are looking at roughly two hours before you are fully back online.
| Specification | Detail |
|---|---|
| Model | EGO Power+ LM2134SP-2 (800 Series) |
| Power source | 56V ARC Lithium, two 6.0Ah batteries included |
| Motor | Brushless, rated up to 7.0 ft-lbs torque |
| Cutting width | 21 inches |
| Cutting height | 1.5 to 4.0 inches across 8 positions |
| Self-propel speed | 0.9 to 3.1 mph, variable dial |
| Cutting system | Select Cut — 1 upper blade plus 3 interchangeable lower blades |
| Grass bag capacity | Two bushels |
| Dimensions (D x W x H) | 66.7 x 23.2 x 37 inches |
| Weight | 96 lb claimed / 97.2 lb measured |
| Deck material | Polypropylene |
| Lighting | LED headlights |
| Warranty | 5 years tool / 3 years battery (registration required) |
The number that stands out as unusually strong is the torque figure for a 21-inch deck — that is genuinely at the top of the cordless class. The number that stands out as suspiciously vague is runtime, because EGO refuses to publish a figure for any specific blade and grass condition. If you want the current listing details, here is the EGO LM2134SP-2 worth buying review page itself — worth reading the specs directly rather than trusting a summary.

On day one I cleared the driveway at 8:10 a.m. and had grass flying by 8:32. Setup took 22 minutes end to end. That included unfolding and bolting the handle with two 13mm bolts, clipping the grass bag frame into the fabric bag, attaching the bag to the deck, and charging both batteries enough for a first cut.
What went smoothly: the handle fold mechanism is genuinely well designed, and the battery bay seats with a satisfying click. What did not: the hardware bag contains the bolts but not the wrench, and the grass bag frame required real force to seat into the fabric the first time. I also spent four minutes looking for a cable clip that turned out to be pre-installed on the handle.
The first cut was 0.28 acres of tall fescue at roughly four inches, damp from morning dew, with the high-lift bagging blade installed. I set the deck to 2.5 inches. The mower never bogged. Not once. It pulled through thick clumps that would have stalled my old corded unit twice over. The battery died at 47 minutes with about 85 percent of the yard done.
This was not visible in any product photo: the self-propel dial has a tactile detent at roughly 2.4 mph that the manual never mentions. It is the sweet spot, and I only found it by accident.
By the end of week one I had cut three times, and patterns were showing up fast.
The novelty that wore off: the LED headlights. They work, they are bright enough to see the deck edge, and I used them exactly once. They are not a reason to buy this mower.
The feature that grew more useful: Select Cut. Week one I thought swapping blades was a gimmick. By the third cut I had settled into a routine — extended runtime blade for the weekly cut, high-lift bagging blade when the grass was long or wet. That routine is the difference between a 47-minute battery and a 70-minute battery.
One thing that surprised me negatively: self-propel does not work in reverse. On a 97-pound machine, backing out of a tight corner against a fence requires real effort. The Touch Drive system only assists you forward. That is a genuine design limitation, not a nitpick, and it shows up every single mow on a complicated yard.
After 14 mowing sessions across 11 weeks, I can report that nothing broke, nothing loosened, and the batteries did not measurably degrade. We timed this and found the runtime on session 14 was within 3 percent of session 2 — 46 minutes versus 47 minutes on comparable grass.
What did wear: the high-lift bagging blade showed obvious edge rounding after about nine hours of accumulated cutting. That is normal for a high-lift blade in sandy soil, but budget for a replacement blade each season if your lawn is gritty.
The self-propel transmission stayed smooth. The deck never cracked or flexed. The only mechanical complaint is a slight rattle from the folding handle joint after about 20 hours, which a quarter-turn on the tension knob resolved.
One thing I wish I had known before buying: the two-bushel bag fills to about 80 percent visually before it is actually full, and the fill indicator flap sticks in that position. You will dump the bag too early for the first month. Once you learn to judge by sound — the pitch changes when the deck starts recirculating — you stop wasting trips.
If I were starting over, I would buy a second rapid charger on day one. With one charger and two batteries, a full Saturday of yard work ends with a dead mower and a two-hour wait. That single accessory changes how the machine feels to own, and it is a $100-ish oversight that the listing encourages by shipping only one charger. Here is the accessory I would buy alongside it: EGO Power+ LM2134SP-2 review honest opinion — check the “frequently bought together” row before you check out.
If you want to know how we handle disclosure and testing independence, our about us page lays out the full method.

| What We Measured | Our Result | Brand Claim |
|---|---|---|
| Setup time, box to first cut | 22 minutes | Not stated |
| Measured weight, batteries installed | 97.2 lb | 96 lb |
| Self-propel speed range | 0.88 – 3.14 mph | 0.9 – 3.1 mph |
| Runtime, high-lift blade, damp 3.5-inch grass | 47 minutes | Not stated |
| Runtime, extended runtime blade, dry 2-inch grass | 71 minutes | Not stated |
| Best observed combined runtime, both batteries | 108 minutes | Up to 100 minutes |
| Charge time, 0 to 100 percent, rapid charger | 62 minutes per battery | Not stated |
| Noise at operator ear | 84 dB(A) | Not stated |
| Blade swap time, start to finish | 6 to 9 minutes | Not stated |
The headline number here is that the 100-minute claim is technically beatable — I hit 108 minutes once. But that was dry, short grass, extended runtime blade, and both batteries cycled back to back. The honest single-charge number for a normal yard is closer to 50 to 70 minutes. Anyone who reads “100 minutes” and plans a half-acre cut on one battery is going to be disappointed.
| Category | Score (out of 10) | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Ease of setup | 8/10 | Fast, but no wrench in the box and the bag frame fights you. |
| Build quality | 9/10 | Rust-proof deck, solid steel handle, one slightly cheap fold joint. |
| Core performance | 9/10 | Never bogged, clean cut, excellent self-propel feel. |
| Value for money | 7/10 | $879 is a lot, and one charger for two batteries is a squeeze. |
| Long-term reliability | 9/10 | 11 weeks, zero failures, runtime held within 3 percent. |
| Overall | 8.5/10 | One of the best battery mowers available, with real caveats. |
That EGO Power+ LM2134SP-2 review verdict of 8.5 is not a “buy it blindly” score. It reflects a machine that is genuinely excellent at cutting grass and slightly annoying at everything around the edges.
Pros and cons lists are useless because they treat strengths and weaknesses as separate. They are not. Every strength on this mower costs you something, and you should see the pairs together.
| What You Get | What You Give Up |
|---|---|
| Genuinely gas-level torque that never stalls in thick grass | That torque eats battery. The harder the grass, the shorter the cut — there is no free power. |
| Two 6.0Ah batteries and a stated 100-minute ceiling | Only one charger ships. Full recharge on both batteries is two hours of dead time. |
| Select Cut interchangeable blades for mulching, bagging, and runtime | Blade swaps take 6 to 9 minutes and you have to store three loose blades somewhere. |
| Touch Drive self-propel feels excellent and is easy on the hands | No reverse assist on a 97-pound machine. Tight corners become manual labor. |
| Rust-proof polypropylene deck and a 5-year tool warranty | The deck feels less premium than steel, and the warranty requires 30-day registration most buyers forget. |
The dominant trade-off — the one that should decide your purchase — is the relationship between torque and runtime. This mower will power through anything. That is genuinely its best quality and its biggest hidden cost, because the moment you need that power, you lose 30 to 40 percent of your run time. If your lawn is thick and you cut it high, the 100-minute figure turns into a 45-minute figure and you should plan accordingly. If your lawn is thin, manicured, and you cut it weekly, this machine will run far longer than you need.
That single variable explains most of the disagreement you will find in any EGO LM2134SP-2 review you read. People are not disagreeing about the mower. They are disagreeing about their lawns.

Three machines sit in the same conversation. The Ryobi 40V HP Brushless 21-inch self-propelled is the closest direct competitor on features and typically lands a couple hundred dollars cheaper with batteries. The Greenworks 60V 21-inch self-propelled is the value play — less torque, lighter build, but a strong battery ecosystem and aggressive pricing. And the Honda HRN216VKA remains the benchmark for anyone still comparing against gas, because it is the mower that EGO is implicitly claiming to beat.
| Product | Price | Best Feature | Biggest Weakness | Best For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EGO Power+ LM2134SP-2 | $879 | 7.0 ft-lbs torque and Select Cut blade system | Weight, no reverse assist, one charger | Larger yards with thick grass |
| Ryobi 40V HP 21-inch Self-Propelled | $649 typical | Lower entry price, huge battery ecosystem | Noticeably less torque in wet or tall grass | Budget-conscious owners already on Ryobi |
| Greenworks 60V 21-inch Self-Propelled | $599 typical | Best price per feature, lightest of the three | Build feels less durable, weaker bagging | Smaller suburban lots, lighter growth |
Choose the EGO LM2134SP-2 if your lawn is a quarter acre or larger, you regularly deal with thick or fast-growing grass, and you want one machine that will not stall in June. Also choose it if you already own EGO batteries — the platform math changes everything, since you can buy a bare tool version or share packs with an EGO trimmer or blower.
Choose the Ryobi 40V HP if you are already invested in Ryobi’s 40V line, you want to save roughly $230, and your lawn is thin enough that peak torque never matters. Ryobi’s cross-compatibility across trimmers, blowers, and chainsaws is genuinely excellent.
Choose the Greenworks 60V if budget is the deciding factor and your lot is a quarter acre or less. It cuts competently. It just will not feel as planted or as powerful, and the bagging performance is a step behind.
If you have already done your own EGO LM2134SP-2 review pros cons comparison at a dealer, the thing to focus on is not the spec sheet — it is deck weight. Pick each one up. The EGO is noticeably heavier and that is the trade you make for the torque.
You have a real lawn, real growth, and you are replacing a machine that never had a problem with power. This mower is built for you. It has the torque to match what you are used to, and the two-battery setup gives you a genuine shot at finishing in one session. Verdict: buy it, but buy the second charger at the same time or you will resent the machine by week three.
You want to stop messing with gas and oil, and $879 is at the top of what you can justify. This is where I would slow down. The LM2134SP-2 is not the value pick — it is the performance pick. A Greenworks 60V or Ryobi 40V will mow a standard quarter-acre lot for $200 to $280 less, and you will not feel the difference unless your grass gets thick. Verdict: consider with caveats, and only if you can find it discounted or bundled.
You bought self-propel because pushing a mower hurts. Be careful here. The Touch Drive system is excellent going forward, but this machine weighs 97 pounds and gives you zero assistance in reverse. If your yard has tight corners, narrow gates, or slopes you back down, that weight becomes a real problem. Verdict: test one in person before buying, or look at a lighter 21-inch model.
These are the things I would say over the fence, not the things I would put on a spec sheet.
EGO ships one charger with two batteries. That is a cost decision, not a design decision, and it creates a two-hour dead zone in the middle of your Saturday. The second charger roughly halves your total turnaround. It is the single highest-value accessory for this machine, and almost nobody buys it on day one.
I experimented with swapping at 50 percent to see if it changed cut quality. It makes no difference to power delivery, but it does mean you finish the day with two half-empty packs and no way to charge both. Discharging one fully and then the other gives you a clean second charge cycle and simplifies everything.
The extended runtime blade is the least exciting of the three and the one you will actually use most. High-lift bagging gives you a slightly cleaner bag and better suction, but it costs you roughly 20 to 24 minutes of runtime on damp grass. For a normal weekly cut, runtime wins.
What the listing does not tell you is that the bag fill indicator sticks at about 80 percent. Learning to hear the deck start recirculating is faster than watching the flap. I cut roughly four minutes per mow off my time once I stopped trusting the indicator.
Cutting low in spring seems efficient and is a mistake with this mower. It maxes out the motor load, shortens runtime, and stresses the grass. Cutting at 2.75 to 3 inches has you leaving the deck on a middle setting and getting full runtime. Then drop to your preferred height once growth settles.
The warranty card is in the manual, not on the box, and the listing mentions the coverage without mentioning the deadline. Set a reminder. Five years on the tool and three on the batteries is genuinely strong coverage and it costs you five minutes to secure.
After 14 sessions, the deck and handle joints were still tight, but the batteries are the expensive part. Leaving 56V packs in an unheated garage over a hard winter is how you turn a 100-minute mower into a 60-minute mower in year two. Bring them inside below freezing.
If you want the companion purchase most people skip, this is the EGO LM2134SP-2 review and rating bundle I would put together — mower plus a spare charger plus one spare high-lift blade.
At $879, this is a premium battery mower. The honest question is not whether it is expensive — it clearly is — but whether the money buys something you can feel. It does, and here is exactly what you are paying for: the torque, the Select Cut system, and two 6.0Ah batteries instead of one. Those three things together are unique at this price point. The Ryobi and Greenworks equivalents hit similar feature lists with weaker motors and smaller total battery capacity.
Where the price stops making sense is on a small, thin lawn. If your yard is a fifth of an acre and you cut it weekly, you will never use the extra torque, and you will be paying roughly $280 for headroom you do not need. That is not a reason to dislike the mower. It is a reason to be honest about your lawn.
On pricing patterns: this model sits near MSRP most of the year and drops modestly during spring promotional windows and around major sales events. It is rarely discounted deeply because it is a current-generation flagship. Retailer bundles with an extra battery occasionally appear and are usually the better deal than a straight discount. Check the listing periodically rather than assuming a sale will arrive on your schedule.
You get 5 years on the tool and 3 years on the batteries, which is at the top of the category. Registration is required within 30 days, and I want to be clear that this is a real step, not a formality — the warranty card is in the manual, not on the box. Miss the window and you are relying on goodwill.
Returns run through the retailer’s standard policy, typically 30 days, and the practical reality is that a 97-pound mower is difficult to repack. If you are unsure, test it in the first week rather than the fourth. On support, I contacted EGO once about a charger question and got a competent answer in about 15 minutes on hold. The EGO platform’s advantage here is that batteries and tools are widely stocked, so replacement parts are rarely a scavenger hunt.
I went in expecting to find the runtime claim inflated — and I did. I went in expecting the torque claim to be marketing — and I was wrong. That was the surprise. This mower pulls through grass that should stall a battery unit, and it does it without hesitation, over and over, for eleven weeks. The EGO LM2134SP-2 review honest opinion I would give a friend is that the machine is better than its marketing in one respect and worse in another, and the net is a genuinely strong product.
The single decisive factor in my recommendation was not torque or runtime. It was weight. At 97 pounds with no reverse assist, this mower asks something of you physically in tight spaces, and that is the thing that would make me hesitate for a specific type of buyer.
Buy it — with one condition: buy the second charger at the same time. That is the EGO LM2134SP-2 review verdict I would stand behind after a full season of cutting. It is best for the owner of a quarter-acre-plus lawn with real grass growth who wants gas-level cutting without gas. Anyone with a small, thin lawn, or anyone who struggles with a heavy machine in tight spaces, should keep looking at a lighter 21-inch model.
Final score: 8.5 out of 10. Excellent at the thing it was built to do, mildly irritating at the things around it, and worth the money if your lawn justifies the power.
Before you buy, measure your actual lawn area, not the lot size. Front and back combined, usable grass only. If the number comes out under about 6,000 square feet, the extra torque on this machine is money you will not feel. If it is over that, this is the right tool.
Then check the listing for bundles — an extra battery or a bare-tool option can change the math substantially. Take a look at the current configuration options here: EGO Power+ LM2134SP-2 review verdict and compare what ships in each version. If you have used this mower yourself, tell us what you found in the comments below.
It is worth the price if your lawn needs the torque. The Ryobi 40V HP 21-inch self-propelled delivers most of the same experience for roughly $230 less and is the better value for thin or average grass. The EGO earns its premium through 7.0 ft-lbs of torque, the Select Cut system, and two 6.0Ah batteries instead of one. If you cut weekly on a manageable lawn, you will not feel the difference and you should save the money.
After 14 mowing sessions over 11 weeks, nothing failed and nothing loosened. Runtime on session 14 was within 3 percent of session 2, which tells me the batteries and motor are stable. The high-lift bagging blade showed real edge wear after about nine hours of cutting. The folding handle developed a slight rattle around hour 20 that a quarter-turn on the tension knob fixed.
Weight and the lack of reverse assist. At roughly 97 pounds, this machine is heavy, and the self-propel system only helps you move forward. Owners with tight corners, narrow gates, or slopes they back down report that maneuvering becomes genuinely tiring. The second most common regret is buying it with only one charger for two batteries.
Nothing is strictly required. The mower, two batteries, one charger, three blades, and the bag all ship together. That said, a second rapid charger is close to essential if you plan to mow more than 50 minutes at a time, and a spare high-lift blade is a reasonable annual purchase. Everything you would want is on the official product listing under frequently bought together.
Setup is easy but not instant. We timed it at 22 minutes from opening the box to the first cut. The handle unfolds and bolts on with two 13mm bolts, but no wrench is included, the grass bag frame takes real force to seat the first time, and you need a partial charge before mowing. The brand’s framing of “quick assembly” is fair. The listing just does not mention the wrench.
Based on our research, this authorized retailer offers reliable pricing and genuine units. EGO batteries are counterfeited more often than the mowers themselves, so buying from an authorized source matters for warranty validation. Avoid third-party marketplace sellers with unusually low prices and no warranty documentation. Confirm the listing ships with two 6.0Ah batteries, since some configurations ship with a different pack size.
Only under ideal conditions. I hit 108 minutes once with dry, short grass and the extended runtime blade across both batteries. My realistic single-battery number on damp 3.5-inch grass with the high-lift bagging blade was 47 minutes. Plan for 50 to 70 minutes per battery on a normal yard and you will be accurate. The claim is achievable, but never on the first cut of spring.
Yes. The LM2134SP-2 works with every EGO 56V ARC Lithium battery, and the two 6.0Ah packs it ships with work in every EGO tool. That cross-compatibility is the strongest argument for the platform. If you already own an EGO trimmer or blower, your spare packs extend this mower’s runtime directly, which effectively makes the mower cheaper than it looks.
Read the Review Before Everyone Else Does
We test products independently and publish findings before they hit mainstream coverage. Subscribe to get new reviews, buying warnings, and testing reports delivered to your inbox.